Telangana Tourism Information

Welcome to Telangana tourism info website

Before we introduce about Best Telangana tourism, let’s begin with the history of Telangana state.

Smart Introduction for visitors

The name Telangana is thought to have been derived from the word Trilinga, as in the Trilinga Desa, which translates to “the country of the three lingas”. According to a Hindu legend, Shiva descended in the lingam form on three mountains, Kaleshwaram, Srisailam and Draksharama, A more historical reasoning is that during the reign of Nizams, the region was known as Telugu Angana to differentiate it from the areas where Marathi was spoken.
Telangana region has been ruled by great dynasties such as Satavahanas, Kakatiyas, Chalukyas, Mughals, Qutub Shahis, Asaf Jahis. Kakatiyas contributions to architecture are considered most impressive while Satavahanas ruled Telangana region for about 400 years right from the 2nd century B.C. to beyond the 2nd century A.D. Among Kakatiya, Prataparudra, was a great ruler who ruled till A.D.1323.
The Indian Government refused to entertain a request that Hyderabad would seek a separate status and Operation Polo was initiated to annex Hyderabad state. The Kannada and Marathi speaking areas of Hyderabad state was then merged with Karnataka and Maharashtra respectively while Telugu-speaking region of Telangana was merged with Andhra state with Hyderabad as the capital of united Andhra Pradesh state in 1956. Although there was resentment against the merger, there was a period of calm.

After the promises made to respect the rights of Telangana were not fulfilled, a separate Telangana agitation was launched in 1969. Following subsequent Gentleman’s agreement and again a period of broken promises and injustice, Telangana movement was given a final push by Shri. K Chandrasekhar Rao in 2001 with the formation of TRS. Finally due to the whole-hearted efforts of Telangana society and political parties, the Government of India agreed to creation of a separate Telangana state in July, 2013 and Telangana came into effect on June 2, 2014, as ‘Telangana state’, the 29th state of Indian Union – Jai Telangana

Telangana Tourism Information

The Telangana State Tourism Development Corporation (TSTDC) is a state government agency which promotes tourism in Telangana. It was separated from the Andhra Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation on 2 June 2014.

Telangana State consists of Ten districts, where every district tourism differs from other.

  1. Hyderabad district.
  2. Ranga Reddy district.
  3. Medak district.
  4. Karimnagar district.
  5. Warangal district previously it has been called as Orugallu in Kakatiya’s Period.
  6. Nalgonda district.
  7. Mahabubnagar district.
  8. Nizamabad district.
  9. Adilabad district
  10. Khammam district.
Tourist places in Telangana state
Hyderabad Tourism:

Charminar, Qutub Shahi Tombs, Salar Jung Museum, Mecca Masjid, Laad Baazar, Golconda Fort, Taramati Baradari, Birla Mandir, Birla Planetarium, State Archaeological Museum, Public Gardens, Nehru Zoological Park, Mir Alam Tank, Shilparamam (Arts & Crafts Village), Hitec City, Hussainsagar Lake, The Nizam’s Silver Jubilee Museum, Chowmohalla Palace, Durgam Cheruvu, KBR National Park, Mrugavani National Park, Osmansagar Lake, Shamirpet Lake.

Ranga Reddy Tourism:

Anantha Padmanabha Swamy Temple, Karmanghat Hanuman Temple, Keesaragutta Temple, Sanghi Temple, Chilkur Balaji Temple, Ananthagiri Hills, Ramoji Film City, Osman Sagar Lake, Mrugavani National Park, Shamirpet Deer Park, Vikarabad Adventure.

Medak Tourism:

Shri Saraswathi Kshetramu, Edupayala Durga Bhavani Gudi, Kasi Visweswara temple, Kotilingeshwara Swamy temple and Joginatha temple, Methukudurgam fortress or Medak fort, Pocharam Wildlife Sanctuary, Pocharam Lake, Medak Church or Cathedral, Manjeera and Singur reservoirs.

Karimnagar Tourism:

Manair River, Satavahana dynasty,
Vemulawada – Sri Raja Rajeshwara Swamy Temple complex ,
Dharmapuri – Lord Narasimha Swamy, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu,
Idols of Dakshinamurthy, Vinayaka and Saptha Mathrukas, temple of Mahishasuramardhani,
Kondagattu – Lord Anjaneya Swamy,
Kaleshwaram – Shiva temple,
Kaleswara Muktheswara Swamy – Dakshina Triveni Sangamam,
River Pranahita, Sivaram Wildlife Sanctuary,
heritage destinations such as Nagunur Fort, Dhulikatta, Elgandal fort, Molanguru Fort, Ramagiri Killa etc. Manair Dam

Warangal Tourism:

(SRI RUDRESWARA SWAMY TEMPLE) Thousand Pillar Temple, Bhadrakali Temple, (SRI SWAYAMBU TEMPLE) Warangal Fort, Khush Mahal, Ramappa Temple, Ramappa Lake, Pakhal Lake, Kolanupaka, Ethrunagaram, Mallikarjuna Swamy Temple, Sammakka Saralamma Temple – Medaram, Padmakshmi Amma Temple, Mettu Gutta, SRI SOMESWARA LAXMINASASIMHA SWAMY TEMPLE – PALAKURTHY, SRI MALLIKARJUNA SWAMY DEVASTHANAM – KOMURAVELLI,SRI MALLIKARJUNA SWAMY DEVASTHANAM – AYINAVOLU, SRI VEERA BHADRA SWAMY DEVASTHANAM – KURAVI, SRI RAMACHANDRA SWAMY TEMLE – JEEDICAL, KOLANPAKA – Kolanupaka Site Museum, FATIMA CHURCH, AJMER SHARIF , Sai baba Temple, Bheemuni Padam. Monuments.

Nalgonda Tourism and Temple:

Yadagiri Gutta named as Yadadri Temple – Lord Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy,
Nagarjunasagar dam along with AP, Bhuvanagiri Fort, PillalaMarri, Sri
Jain Mandir – Lord Adinath, Neminath and Lord Mahaveera and
Chaya Someswara swamy Temple,
Mellacheruvu, Swayambhu Sambhulingeswara Swami.

Mahabubnagar Tourism:

Jurala Dam, Alamapur’s Jogulamba temple, Srirangapur, Pillalamarri, Kollapur, Someswara Swamy Temple, Gadwal Fort, Jetprolu, Jurala Dam, Koilsagar Dam, Dindi River.

Nizamabad Tourism:

forest of Mallaram, Nizam Sagar is a large reservoir, Manjira river, Sarangpur Hanuman Temple, Kanteshwar Temple, Alisagar Deer Park, Archaeological Museum, Ashok Sagar Lake,  Saraswathi temple located at Basar, Dichpally Ramalayam, Neelakanteshwara Temple, Pochampad or Sri Ram Sagar Dam on Godavari River.

Adilabad Tourism:

Nirmal Fort, Dokra Metal Crafts, Nirmal Arts, Kawal wildlife sanctuary, Pranahita wildlife sanctuary, Kuntala waterfalls, Pochera waterfalls, Sapthala Gundam Mitte Waterfalls.

Khammam Tourism:

Bhadrachalam Temple, Jamalapuram, Kinnerasani Dam, Kusumanchi, Nelakondapalli.

Transport to reach destination:

The Telangana Transport department provided different types of special buses under TSRTC, which is more secure.

The Telangana Tourism Department is the among the first tourism departments in India to introduce super luxurious Benz and Volvo buses for the convenience of the travelers. The Tourism Department also provides travelers an option of customizing their tours to fit into their budget.
Apart from the Benz and Volvo buses, there are also indica cars for the tourists to reach their destinations quickly and safely. For package and luxury tourists, we also offer customized caravans that render a sophisticated touch for a perfect holiday.

Special Pushkaralu in Telangana:

Accommodation Service:
The govt started best hotels and named as Haritha. which bagged many awards.

Awards for Telangana tourism: