Telangana House Stay Scheme

Telangana House Stay Scheme to Boost Rural Tourism

The Tourists visiting from within the country and abroad will soon get an experience of tradition and culture of rural Telangana Tourism. Taking cue from Goa, Himachal Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh, the Telangana government is coming up with new scheme called as “Telangana House Stay Scheme“- to promote tourism in a big way in rural areas. Under the new scheme, tourists visiting the State from different parts will be offered comfortable home stay accommodation the villages and interior habitations.

The owner of the Home Stay unit will charge rates approved by the State Tourism Department. All house owners should register their names and services offering to the tourists with the department. A senior official of the Tourism Department said all villages having famous temples, cultural centres and habitations with unique characters like cuisines and exotic places would be included in the list of Home Stay services.

Objectives of Telangana House Stay Scheme:

“The objective of the scheme is to provide a clean and affordable place for domestic and foreign tourists to experience the customs, tradition and culture of rural Telangana. It will also to showcase Telangana as a destination for village tourism and create platform to increase economic activity in the rural areas,” the official added.

The official said the TS house stay scheme would also help diversify tourists from oversaturated areas to other areas and give boost to rural tourism involving active participation of village people. Initially, as part of promoting the scheme, the government is mulling to exempt all House Stay Colonies from luxury and sales tax and also provide power and water supply under domestic category.

The new programme will be included in the new Telangana tourism policy to be announced soon by the Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR). To speed up the process, the government had also constituted a seven member committee headed by State Tourism Commissioner. The application form will be updated here.

The other members of the committee are:

Assistant Director (India Tourism), representatives from IATO and TAAI, Principal IHM (Institute of Hotel Management) and Assistant Director of Department of Tourism. Based on the recommendations of the committee, modalities would be finalised soon, the official said.

Article Written By: Patan Afzal Babu Source (theHansIndia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *